In this Article:
There are 3 types of rooms in Tangle:
- Every server starts with a Lobby room. New users will start here until they create their Homeroom
- The first room a User creates will be their Homeroom. Homerooms are more or less like regular rooms except that they belong to a specific user, get a unique Home icon and can only be edited by their owner
- Regular ol' rooms can be created from the toolbar by any user. They can also be deleted, moved or edited by any user. These are typically used for Meetings like Sprint Plannings or Standups, but a lot of teams also create a "Kitchen" or similar for impromptu gatherings.
When you log in to Tangle, you will see a lot of little rounded rectangular "rooms". Every time you log in, you automatically start out in your own homeroom. You'll know it's your homeroom because it's got that little house next to the name.
Your homeroom is your own individual space. Think of it like your office, or your childhood bedroom. It belongs to you!
The most important thing to understand about your Homeroom is Your Door. Your Door works just like a real life door- Close it for Privacy or keep it open to signal that you're open to visitors. Your Door Icon is found at #1 in the screenshot below.
Doors & Privacy
The Open Door Icon
When you log in to Tangle, your room is OPEN by default.
- This means that:
- Other people can enter your room (You'll hear an audio notification when they do!)
- Other people can HEAR what you or other people are saying in your room
- Other people can SEE what you or other people in your room are showing
- This applies to Avatars, Webcam and Screenshare.
The Closed Door Icon.
You close or open your door by clicking on the Open Door icon.
A Closed Door icon means:
- Other people will have to KNOCK on your door to be allowed in. You'll get a dialog allowing you to permit or deny entry to your room.
- Only people in your room can SEE or HEAR what's happening.
- To people outside of your closed room your video feed is an avatar and no audio is audible.
To sum it up:
Door open = people can hear you and see you if your webcam is on
Door closed = people cannot hear you and only see your avatar, not your webcam feed
Editing Your Room's Details.
You can edit the name, color and position of your room by clicking on its "Name", shown at #2 below.
Once you click on the name of your room you'll be in edit mode. This is demonstrated by a colored outline appearing around your room and a gentle fade in the background. In Edit Mode you have 4 options.
- #3 - Delete Your Room.
- You can't delete your homeroom. You can move it, but you can't delete it.
- You can use this icon to delete regular rooms created from the Toolbar
- #4 - Click here to rename your room
- Clicking here will allow you to edit the string of text that identifies your room.
- #5 - Click here to choose a color for your room.
- This color will also inform things like the color of your stickies, hearts and other Tangle objects.
- #6 - Click here to confirm any changes you've made or just click outside of the room.
To move your room, just grab and drag the entire thing while in edit mode.
Regular rooms work just like Homerooms except that you can create as many of them as you'd like and delete them when you're done. Most teams use these for Sprint Planning rooms, Meeting rooms or spaces where folks can just meet and chill out.
Rooms can be created like other Tangle objects, by clicking and dragging the Room icon from the Toolbar into Tangle.